Support has been upgraded!
The Support Forum is closed. Not to worry! Providing the top quality support you expect and we're known for will continue! We're not ending support, just changing where you submit requests. This will provide you with the best experience possible.
Premium Support
Have you purchased an addon for Connections such as one of our premium templates or extensions with a valid license and you need help?
Please open a Support Ticket in your user account.
Free Support
Are you using the free Connections plugin? Don't worry, you are still very important to us! We are still providing you with the same high quality support that we're known for.
Please open a new support topic in the WordPress support forums for Connections.
- This topic has 3 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 13 years, 5 months ago by
Steven Zahm.
-
AuthorPosts
-
02/04/2013 at 2:27 pm #250726
Steve Redshaw
GuestI am setting up a site for a group of Home Educators. The Connections plug-in is ideal as it enables each user to add their own details to the group’s address book. The registered users have Author capabilities, so I have set the Connections Roles for Author to;
View Admin Window
Add Entry
Edit Entry
Delete EntryI assume they should be able to see their own entry after they have added it, and be able to edit or delete it. However when I log on as a user (Author) the only capability to show under the Connections tool is Add Entry. I have tried enabling View list (Manage), but that enables the Author user to edit or delete all entries on the directory.
Please advise… thanks
02/05/2013 at 3:59 pm #250798Steven Zahm
Keymaster@ Steve Redshaw
The roles settings are to allow groups of users within a specified role to perform certain actions within Connections. This does not link a specific user to a specific entry. It just so happens I just release a new add-on that will accomplish exact what you’re seeking to do. Please check out Link.
02/27/2013 at 5:03 am #252458Steve Redshaw
GuestI know this is resolved, but one more question!!
Link – Very useful plug-in, thanks. Can a user delete their Directory Entry as well as editing it through this plug-in? Or does that still have to be done by someone with a capability to Manage the entire address list?
02/27/2013 at 7:15 pm #252510Steven Zahm
Keymaster@ Steve Redshaw
Right now, that needs to be done by the admin or user w/ manage capabilities. But I definitely need to include a way for the user to remove their own info.
-
AuthorPosts
You cannot reply to this support topic. Please open your own support topic.
