Support has been upgraded!
The Support Forum is closed. Not to worry! Providing the top quality support you expect and we're known for will continue! We're not ending support, just changing where you submit requests. This will provide you with the best experience possible.
Premium Support
Have you purchased an addon for Connections such as one of our premium templates or extensions with a valid license and you need help?
Please open a Support Ticket in your user account.
Free Support
Are you using the free Connections plugin? Don't worry, you are still very important to us! We are still providing you with the same high quality support that we're known for.
Please open a new support topic in the WordPress support forums for Connections.
- This topic has 6 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 10 years, 6 months ago by
Steven Zahm.
-
AuthorPosts
-
12/16/2015 at 11:31 am #358274
Becky
ParticipantDifferent Issue –
The following errors keeps popping up to my users in the backend. When approved, the listing shows up with multiples of the same phone number, email, social media, etc. on the front end.
ERROR: Your preferred setting for a phone was overridden because another phone number that you are not permitted to view or edit is set as the preferred phone number. Please contact the admin if you received this message in error.
ERROR: Your preferred setting for an email address was overridden because another email address that you are not permitted to view or edit is set as the preferred email address. Please contact the admin if you received this message in error.
ERROR: Your preferred setting for a social media network was overridden because another social media network that you are not permitted to view or edit is set as the preferred social media network. Please contact the admin if you received this message in error.
ERROR: Your preferred setting for a link was overridden because another link that you are not permitted to view or edit is set as the preferred link. Please contact the admin if you received this message in error.
I think it’s because of my settings, but don’t know which ones to change so that it is a smoother transition for my users.
http://www.50plusconnection.com
Thanks,
Becky12/16/2015 at 11:46 am #358275Steven Zahm
Keymaster@ Becky
For each of those message at least one phone, email, social media and link was set as the entry’s Preferred but this Preferred one was set to a Visibility which a user does not have permission to view (such as Private and Unlisted).
As an example… edit this user’s entry as an admin. Scroll down to the Addresses section. I suspect there is more than one address. One of those addresses has the Preferred option enabled and its visibility to either Private or Unlisted (assuming that user’s role is not permitted to view Private and Unlisted info).
The user would see this error when they attempt to add or edit an address and set it to be the Preferred address.
It would be the same for the others too; phone, email and social media.
To change this you must edit the entry’s as an admin and change the Preferred of each to a Visibility setting that your users have permission. Alternatively, you could give the user’s role the the View Private capability on the Connections : Roles admin page. Though I would not recommend giving their role the View Unlisted capability.
Hope that makes sense!
12/16/2015 at 2:51 pm #358310Becky
ParticipantI do not have any “Private” or “Unlisted” entries. However, I did go in and change a few permissions in settings and will let you know if I have future problems with this.
Thanks!
12/16/2015 at 2:58 pm #358313Steven Zahm
Keymaster@ Becky
re: I do not have any “Private” or “Unlisted” entries.
Sorry, no, I do not mean the entries themselves. When you add an address, phone, ect to an entry you can set that particular item to be Public, Private or Unlisted separately from the entry’s visibility. This is what I was referring to in my previous reply. That is the only way those error messages can be generated.
12/16/2015 at 8:36 pm #358360Becky
ParticipantThat is not the case here as nothing was marked private or unlisted. There were however, “preferred” items which I changed myself.
This person will be back in for another account she manages tomorrow or the next day and I will let you know if these errors occur again.
Hopefully with the changes I made earlier, we are all set. :)
Thanks again.
12/17/2015 at 8:56 am #358441Steven Zahm
Keymaster@ Becky
Hmmm… Interesting. If you configure to receive the error, of course let me know. To dig deeper I’ll need a temp admin login which can be posted here as a private reply.
02/12/2016 at 10:12 am #365022Steven Zahm
KeymasterMarking resolved due to inactivity.
-
AuthorPosts
You cannot reply to this support topic. Please open your own support topic.
