03/28/2017 at 3:39 pm #417674
You’ll need to login into your site via FTP and delete this folder:
You data and settings are safe and will not be lost by deleting the connections folder.
After you delete the existing version, you can reinstall Connections from the the PLugins Add New admin page like you originally did.
The latest 8.6.1 update seems to resolve the two issues that were encountered with this update. Wp.org seems to sending the correct version now and the correct version is available for download on the wp.org page for Connections. So it seems they worked out their update issues as well.
Again, apologies for the trouble this has caused you!