The solution might be pretty simple. Any entry that is assigned to the “Wholesale” category, set their entry to “Private” instead of “Public” Then on the Connections : Roles admin page set the “View Private” capability to the role that your registered user will be assigned.
This will limit what is returned what can be view by the “public” even in searches. Now the “Wholesale” category will show up, just the name, but if the user is not a registered user. they will just see a no result message instead of the entries.
Hope that makes sense and helps.