You would deactivate and delete Connections. Your data is safe (this is basically all WP does during updates).
You would then install the old version of Connections by clicking the Add New plugin admin page menu link and then click the Upload button to upload the zip file you would have downloaded by clicking on the link I gave you. The just follow the prompts WP give to install and activate.
Normally, I do not recommending rolling back but in this case it should be safe. It hopefully should allow us to see if that small tweak where WP now translated the data is having a negative effect or not.
Let me know what you learn.