I am sorry to hear of your trouble, but are you certain it was the uninstall of Connections that caused the problem? Reading between the lines, it sounds like you were testing other plugins too. I ask only because I do not see how that would be possible as there are only 4 instances in Connections where images are removed:
- Removing an image from an entry.
- Replacing an image for an entry.
- Moving an image from the legacy images folder to the to the new images folder which would not seem to apply to you being a new user.
- Deleting an entry.
When Connections is removed either by manually deleting it via FTP or using the deactivate and delete links WordPress supplied to remove a plugin it does not run any sort of “cleanup”. If anything Connections leaves a “mess”. I chose this because data is way too important and I can not really know ones actual intent so I chose to error on the very conservative side by leaving Connections data intact.
With that said, there is always a possibility of a bug and this would be pretty severe. Please, if you’re absolutely certain that it was Connections could you let me know as exact as you can remember the steps you used to remove Connections so I can try to duplicate it?